“The Empty Chair”

I wake beside my empty pillow, hopping to the floor

As if preparing for a wedding,

And part the shielding curtains,

Ready for another single track.

 

In the business halls,

I wave empty hands searching for a shake,

Yet the rush cannot make time

For mutual exchange.

 

Little does it matter to me:

I drive my riches down the freed way,

Looking past the empty seat and into the view

Loving every day, each time made new,

 

Except for the nights I park the silver,

My freedom growing tired,

When I can only sit and part my hair,

Staring at the empty chair.

 

Leave a Reply

